True Beauty

So, I am stuck in the development of my children’s book, I am pissed off at being blamed for other people’s mistakes, and I am not doing very well with the ultimatum I mentioned last week. Blue Friday.

But since I am very good at telling people that it is not always about them, and I sorta tried to tell myself the same thing last Friday, I am going to try and eat my words.

Okay, it still has to be about me, kinda.

Facebook, quite an invention, don’t you think? It is here I put a face, and some personality, real or virtual, to certain names. That is if I’m not bumping into them in strange places, like bathrooms, then following up on it with facebook messages. And no, it is not what you are thinking. Not that either.

On facebook, I recently met a person that I will name Mr. C. I have no idea how we got to be facebook friends, but I have a strong feeling it had to do with the work I do with Storymoja. That or I am a hopless egoistic attention seeking facebook user. Yeah, the second one is more plausible even to me.

Anyway, Mr. C first of all diiscussed my pictures or lack thereof at the time on my profile. I tried to explain in a nice way that my profile picture is likely to reflect what has caught my attention at the particular time, mostly motorbikes and comic books. Sometimes myself.

The conversation moved really fast from my pictures to women, and women living in a man’s world. Mr. C was quite gleeful, emphasising that with capitalised LOLs, and BWAHAHAHAHAs that we lived in a man’s world and that women’s only advantage would be beauty. Therefore if a woman, according to MR. C is not beautiful (whatever his standards for that are), then no matter how intelligent, hardworking, enterprising she was, she would never make a difference in this world.

He may be right, in that there are a lot of men out there who think like he does. My trouble is that there are a lot of women who think the same too, and even worse about their own selves.

I believe that everyone, male, female, whatever life role that you own, whatever colour, creed, lifestyle choice, everyone has a place in this world.

If I ever have a daughter, I want her to know that, too. I want her to know that no matter what the world’s standards of beauty, her true beauty would be determined by her strength; her virtue, her respect for herself and for all human beings and her integrity.

I would want my son to know the same about himself, too.

So that’s my not about me, today.

P.S. As a result of certain choc shock episodes, I am asking Cadbury’s to make sure that none of their products come anywhere near me for at least 6 or 2 months. Just in case you are wondering the reasons for certain actions that I have not yet committed. Have a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “True Beauty

  1. Hi Juliet…

    The thing that I have come to realize is that, ‘if you think you are beautiful, we think you are beautiful.’

    I have met ladies who are not conventionally ‘beautiful’ but they carried themselves like Cleopatra. And honestly, they got me thinking… and it comes down to that. How people perceive themselves and therefore act.

    Regards

    Tumbo

    Like

  2. Anybody who – outside a registered and government approved famine zone – voluntarily eats Cadbury’s or Hershey’s, instead of Real Chocolate, deserves all the evil henceforth befalling him or her.

    Dixi et decrevi.

    Like

  3. Whether that man spoke in jest or was serious about what he said, his words exposed the insecurity he has, that makes him put others down. I don’t know who he is but, he needs to open his eyes and really look around, who cares if the doctor is cute or not? U went there to be treated didn’t you? Who cares if the lecturer is cute or not you went there to learn. And who cares if the owner of the business is cute or not, you went there to work and get paid. So all he’s saying is rubbish, nowadays women are not locked up in the house to do the man’s bidding of cooking cleaning and bearing children, women are out there working and studying and some do these things in addition to their daily living expectations. The ‘beauty’ he speaks of is slowing becoming something attainable, how many people go for plastic surgery? This man is living in the 1920’s and even then it wasn’t beauty alone that made women succeed; it was their hard work, virtue and patience. (They really were patient to put up with the crap that was dealt on them and maybe some women today are still that patient) I strongly believe in making things happen for me. If Mohammad won’t come to the mountain the mountain will certainly go to Mohammad. I know it’s the motto of many women who have felt underestimated and unappreciated so they have taken the step of faith and jumped out of the boat and started something wonderful. Look at Wangari Mathai she’s my hero, she has achieved so much even with the jeers and gossip and laughter she’s heard and she has set a standard and no one can take it away from her; the 1st African woman to get the Nobel Price and she’s not alone. Mr. should consider that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

