The Beauty

I sincerely apologise to you all for the delay in posting more stuff about the Kakamega kids. The pictures are not of the absolute best quality but here they are.

As you may have gathered from previous posts, the trip had its downs, but the ups were extremely rewarding.

After the initial shock, Wangui and I regrouped and agreed that she would handle the much younger kids, while I worked with the older kids. While it might seem that I had more work since I had to go through 8 modules in four days which would ordinarily take us up to 2 weeks in concentration mode, in reality, Wangui had more to do.

Wangui had 26 young girls between the age of 7 to 12, whose language proficiency in both Swahili and English was below average. She had to be more creative in designing activities that would stimulate creativity and encourage language development.

wangui in her class

wangui in her class

creative writing workshop for kids in kakamega, wangui's class

creative writing workshop for kids in kakamega, wangui's class

On my part, because my girls had slightly better language skills,could focus on the technical steps of writing, skills for creative writing, and the readings both from published works and from the girls own writing.

Creative Writing Workshop for kids, the older girls.

Creative Writing Workshop for kids, the older girls.

working with the girls in my class on descriptions

working with the girls in my class on descriptions

Tropical Fish by Doreen Baingana, and Sophie’s Log a compilation of writing by Sophie Large, A 19 year old who died in a car accident 12 years ago, were very instrumental in assisting my girls explore their own worlds and to voice the things they see with vivid description. a review of the two books named above as well as a few more that we used is coming up on this blog in a few days’ time.

a whole lot of books and essays and short stories by the girls to be read, in our room

a whole lot of books and essays and short stories by the girls to be read, in our room

I will also type out some of the girls’ essays and post them here.

My experience in Kakamega has been very helpful in helping me chart out my future. This is mainly because it has helped me refocus on what I really want to do. In addition, the experience has been that kick in the butt when my illness seems to be more powerful than my will to survive.

I am looking forward to spending more time instructing kids and especially girls to learn how to explore their own voices.

out to play

out to play

i joined the play, too

i joined the play, too

Leave a Reply

