The face in the mirror

I always thought when I looked in the mirror

That I was looking at my own reflection

That I was looking at me

Was I

I guess I was wrong,

I was looking at you looking at me

I was looking at you pretending to be me

Oh yeah, you had me fooled alright

Made me think that I was you

Fooled

You were very wrong

I am a lot smarter than you think

I don’t like that look on your face at all

Of despair, anguish, wretchedness

Despair

That is not the look in my soul

My soul is bright, full of hope and tomorrow

So get your sad, pathetic, lost look off my mirror

I don’t want to see you here anymore

I want to see myself

I choose to see myself in the mirror, my very own reflection

© Juliet Maruru 2009 www.jmaruru.wordpress.com

One thought on “The face in the mirror

Leave a Reply

