Glass Shattering Hurt by Rayhab Gachango

I gave you the glass ball that was my heart.
First you cherished it,
Later you were indifferent,
Was that why you were careless?
Dropping the ball, shattering my delicate heart!
You went away, left me in pieces.
I hurt, crying for so long because you broke me.
It took me years to glue the pieces together,
Getting scarred with pain
As sharp pieces of your betrayal cut into me.
Now you’ve back.
‘Trust me. I will not let you down again’ you say.
Trust, a fragile thing like
My pieced together, glass heart.
My mind says NO!
My heart is in no condition to speak
But it beats louder when you are near.
Is that why I hesitate to keep it safe?

© Rayhab Gachango Raylitpoems 2010

4 thoughts on “Glass Shattering Hurt by Rayhab Gachango

  1. I stumbled here via Mashada. Great poem, time’s a healer (cliche but true) and I also believe never to write anyone off.

    Like

  2. I came, I broke you apart.
    you forgot, you were not meant to be
    a glass, tall, beautiful, wine glass
    so yes, i broke you apart
    but the reason I’m Back
    is cos you are the flexibility
    the deal, the diamond
    though rough edged
    but well brushed
    aware, knowledgeable
    unassuming.
    You now
    are the real deal.

    Like

  3. hey Julie thanks for posting. its true you can never write someone off. for better or worse sometimes people come back and it is better then the first time but sometimes they want to use you as tissue. the trick (am not perfect) is not to let them leave you hurting again. how to do that is rocket science i dont know. maybe just trust in God’s plan that he will get u through.

    i love the reply by joyunspeakable. that is just superb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

