And in other news…

So The Princess Project(K) is coming along really well, and the Creekside Princess has moved to The Big City. I’ve been quite busy lately, trying to keep up with schedules, catch up with deadlines and so on.

I love my job. If I didn’t I have no idea how I could possibly hold on. But I love to write, love the feeling of looking over my work in the light of morning and actually liking my handiwork.

But it gets testy sometimes. When a client doesn’t quite like your end product and you are not quite sure how to do it right for your client and not yourself, it can be somewhat frustrating. Even worse is when the consumer doesn’t quite warm up to something you have sweated blood over.

I know the challenges of my job. I know about canvassing for new work because one job is coming to its end, and the others are not covering all your bills. I know how hard it can be to handle clients, and other service providers on whom your end product depends. I know about creating something and then having to let it lie on a shelf because there isn’t a market available for it yet.

I thought of this when I had a conversation with a much younger friend of mine. She told me that she never realised what her dream career entailed until she started training for it. The stuff she will have to do does not quite appeal to her. I had a few thoughts on that, most of which I restrained myself from yelling out to her. Foremost was, no job, no matter how glamorous it looks on the outside is free from frustrations, and tasks you would rather ignore.

What, you think Jessica Alba likes to kiss all those men in the movies? And what, you actually thought a real life Sydney from Alias would not have to do any paperwork? Oh you, admire Juliet, ‘cos she gets to sit around in her underwear all day typing out stories on her little laptop and get paid at the end of the month? Okay, that last image was a bad idea.

If you are reading this, and you are still figuring out what you’d like to do, get this: It is important to love your job, but no job in the world is going to be sweet, paying well, and without any frustrations. If you are reading this, and your dream job is driving you nuts, suck it up, look on the bright side, and keep working. That is unless, of course, you can afford a career change in the middle of rent, school fees, food and medical expenses. If you can, cool, try and find that job that will never ever have its rough moments.

Oh yeah, this is directed at Mr. Transient. You know who you are. Sooner or later your vagabond, get by without a life plan will catch up with you. Then what? 40 years old, broke, homeless… lost.

That out of my chest, I am in trouble this week. I made a comment that sounded hypocritical. Well, I did. Let’s hope I can live it down, because I definitely am not getting away with it.

Mistakes are a part of being human. Appreciate your mistakes for what they are: precious life lessons that can only be learned the hard way. Unless it’s a fatal mistake, which, at least, others can learn from. Al Franken, “Oh, the Things I Know”, 2002

© Juliet Maruru 2010 www.jmaruru.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

