A Poison Tree

A POISON TREE

by: William Blake (1757-1827)

I was angry with my friend:
I told my wrath, my wrath did end.
I was angry with my foe:
I told it not, my wrath did grow.
And I watered it in fears,
Night and morning with my tears;
And I sunnèd it with smiles,
And with soft deceitful wiles.
And it grew both day and night,
Till it bore an apple bright;
And my foe beheld it shine,
And he knew that it was mine,
And into my garden stole,
When the night had veiled the pole:
In the morning glad I see
My foe outstretched beneath the tree.

For some reason this poem has stuck with me in all the years since I read it. It is so easy for someone to ruin your life, in just a few minutes a heinous act can make you bitter and angry. To be fair some actions are repeated over time, building on the hurt. But in truth, you would have a large part in the ruining of your life, because to survive, is as much of a choice as the decision your attacker made to commit the atrocity.

October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month. In this month there will be numerous global activities aimed at helping to raise awareness about dating abuse, domestic violence, and violence against women in general. Please have a look at your local media and information outlets for information about activities and events in your area during the campaign.

My note is to anyone who has experienced abuse and violence. Don’t let it destroy you. Let it make you. Instead of being angry and bitter, hateful and withdrawn, use your experience to help you stop someone else from going through the same experience.

I told it not, my wrath did grow.

Seek Justice, by all means use all resources made available to you by law both national and international to find justice. But remember, you have a life to live, and to let it pass you by is to give abuse and violence a second victory over you.

Last week on the Creekside Princess Gabrielle experienced a few Indecent Proposals, next week she will have some Decisions to make.

In the meantime please spend a few minutes going over some legal heads up for all you ladies.

As usual, Linda compiled a pretty list of poetry from all of you. Have a look at Short Time.

Linda is having fun over at the Storymoja Hay Festival this weekend. Representing us and doing some reporting.

 

Enjoy your weekend too.

Do you have something to tell the stunning or  haunted Princess out there? We welcome Mzee Articles: Pieces on personal experience overcoming trial or going through the staircase of life. We would also welcome Girl Royal Articles: How to and Skills from a personal perspective. Please drop us a line at theprincessprojectafrica@gmail.com.

One thought on “A Poison Tree

Leave a Reply

