Okay, 1st week of the year is almost over

I’m supposed to be revved up at the beginning of the year. I wasn’t. In fact, it’s taken everything I’ve got to sit up straight and do what I need to do.

I’ll avoid the self-pity I-had-a-migraine-that-folded-me-up-chewed-me-out-then-spat-me-under-the-train routine. Well, I didn’t quite avoid it, did I?

One of my favorite mzees, the one who can sit under a tree and argue me back to 1940, died last week. I am really really sad. Not just because I’ve lost him, but because his kids have lost a really cool dad, and his wife has lost a man that she was still in love with after nearly 50 years being married.

Kinda makes you stop and think, y’know.

Anyway, I wonder if I’ll ever meet a man that I can partner with for 50+ years and love him through it all. I don’t know. The Golden Boy is an ok prospect and he knows it. Probably why he throws that seriously mugunda kinda vibe when I get snotty nosed and throw that I-need-space-I’m-a-Princess tantrum.

Hey, when I’m curled over and shrivelled up after a lobo flare, he knows just what to say to get me sitting up and earning my keep on this earth.

Think about it. Be thankful for who you have for whatever time you’ll have them. That way when they are gone, you remember them, and love those memories. Descansa en paz mi amigo.

Leave a Reply

