Here, and now

He looks into my eyes. He did that when I was just a girl, 17 years old, impressionable, precocious. I would melt every time. He was the man of my dreams. Still is. But it’s not the same anymore. I am a woman. I might still not be done figuring out who I am, but I know what I want.

I look into his eyes. I did that when he was almost a man. He laughed back then, and I knew that he had more power over me than I did over him. I was just a girl. Still am. And it’s not the same anymore. He is a man. So when he held my hand when the pain was racking me, and said:

I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight

I knew the lyrics, but I believed him. Because it’s here, and now.

There, then, I would have done anything for him, give up my dreams, be happy just being part of him. I still want to be part of him, but now I think about what I want to be as well.

Here, now, I think of my purpose on this earth, I think of the gifts I have, I think of the time I have and all the things I need to do with that time.

There, then, he held me at arm’s length; I was just a girl, he knew I would want to run free and find my dreams. So when I packed my bags up and walked away, he let me.

Here, now, he holds me close, he knows I am a woman, and that when I am done running after my dreams, I want to come home and be his woman.

There, then, I had the benefit of strength, endless curiosity, and unimaginable zest for life; I felt invincible, capable of conquering anything I set my mind on. I wanted pop and vodka twists with splashed of lime, orange and blueberry.

Here, now, I have the benefit of knowing what it’s like to have weak moments, my curiosity is still insatiable, I love life now more than ever before. I know I am not invincible, sometimes I will fail, but I am capable of being the best I can be. I still want pop, maybe squash and lemonade, the bright colours remind me that I am alive.

There, then, I hid the beat of my heart against my throat, and he hid away the pulse in his chest. 17, I was just a child, with stars in my eyes, slivers of hurt still stuck in my veins, and a bounce in my step; what a contradiction!

Here, now, we are both old enough to understand the pheromones, the adrenaline, the truth. Childlike – just old enough to understand the chemistry, and young enough to wonder at the physics. Still a contradiction!

This time… it’s complicated. What in life isn’t? But here, and now, that’s what we have.

3 thoughts on “Here, and now

  1. Here, now, I have many fears merging from the past into the present. Reading this is like taking a peek into your heart and it makes me want to be brave and live in the present. Like you.

    Like

  2. Wambuiwairua, dare try. The past can be glorious, or horrid. But there’s nothing like the presence. And life, life is short. Thank you for stopping by.

    Like

  3. nyc nyc….reminds me of 17,I look into his eyes. I did that when he was almost a man. He laughed back then, and I knew that he had more power over me than I did over him. I was just a girl. Still am. And it’s not the same anymore. He is a man………….THUMB UP

    Like

Leave a Reply

