Nails Painted Black

Ai, I hate this month. I’ve hated it since November 2001. I usually fight the darkness of grief with a bit of self pity and a little Cimarrón* dance.

It’s been ten years now, I haven’t forgotten, but this time I am going to do things a little different. I am going to take out the black nail polish and paint my fingernails and toenails black. And then I am going to go out and celebrate life for both of us.

So let’s talk about my books. The first of the Jasmine Weiss series (Choosing Sides) is already available on Amazon Kindle so if you are interested go on and download it. Someday is coming up on Amazon Kindle very soon.

You may have guessed, Zohra is going to be one of my projects in 2012. Zohra – you can read up on the hints here – is actually the second story on the Jasmine Weiss Series. It’s going to be a full length novel. It is a young adult reader like my two previous novels. Why don’t you go on and read up on the hints and tell me what you think? Your ideas will be appreciated.

If you are a writer, you should know about the Kenyan NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month. If you know about it and are a fiction writer, you should have registered at nanowrimo.org and checked in at ihub.co.ke for local write-ins and events. I already have, and for this year’s NaNoWriMo I am going to try out something different. I am really excited about this!

I am also excited about a new venture I am undertaking with three other people who I so deeply respect. If you have a group of young women who would like a little mentoring with regards to their writing, holler! If you need some support with writing and editing your work, holler! My email is on the page marked Editorial Consultations on this site, but you can also find me on Facebook and Twitter.

And with that, nails painted black and all, here’s to a great week!

*Cimarrón – a domestic animal that has returned to a wild state. It can also simply mean wild as well as fugitive.

Leave a Reply

