If Only I Could Find My Way Back To The Time

There is absolutely no way for me to avoid sounding sappy and love sick. So I’m just going to go with the flow here.

This week I’m reminded of an old song on one of my Mum’s LP collections. “But You Know I Love You” is a song written by Mike Settle, which was a 1969 pop hit for The First Edition, a group that included Settle and Kenny Rogers. The lyrics of the song narrate the feelings of someone who has to be away from the one he/she loves because of a career.

These feelings in my case apply to several things going on in my life. I am sad, but I am ever so glad that of all the things I will have to let go of, I am going to keep my will to live (I pray), my zest for life (I hope) and my writing (I trust).

So here’s saying goodbye.

But You Know I Love You

When the mornin sun streaks across my room

And I’m wakin up from another dream of you

Yes I’m on the road once again it seems

All I’ve left behind is a chain of broken dreams…

But you know that I love you
You know that I love you
Oh, I love you

How I wish that love was all we’d need to live.

What a life we’d have cos I’ve got so much to give

But you know I feel so sad down inside my heart

That the dollar sign should be keeping us apart…
But you know that I love you
You know that I love you
Oh, how I love you
And if only I could find my way back to the time

When the problems of this life had not yet crossed my mind

And the answers could be found in childrens nursery rhymes

Id come runnin back to you
Id come runnin back to you

But you know we can’t live on dreams alone
Got to pay the rent so I must leave you all alone
Cause you know I made my choice many years ago
And now this traveling life, well, it’s the only life I know
But you know that I love you
You know that I love you
Oh, I love you

But you know that I love you
You know that I love you
Oh, how I love you

But you know that I love you
You know that I love you
Oh, how I love you

P.S. We took a break from the writing and editorial consultations to have us a little fun. Yes, JK thinks we’ve been having a little too much fun, but hey…

Pet a camel and he might kiss you. Carry tic tacs.

*Bee* This is fun. *Voice in Lin’s head* Hell, no this is dangerous!

Lunch and a mini-reunion

We have no idea where Cap’n Jack Sparrow went. He just bailed on us.

One thought on “If Only I Could Find My Way Back To The Time

  1. I was looking for the lyrics of this song and came across your blog, I likey. I’ve had the song stuck in my head for days, especially this part: “And if only I could find my way back to the time

    When the problems of this life had not yet crossed my mind

    And the answers could be found in childrens nursery rhymes”.

    I only knew the Dolly Parton version….

    Like

Leave a Reply

