Necromancer

necromancerM

she sits on her high throne,

invoking spirits of the dead long gone

‘ shine me brighter, dear ghost;

ghost of the lie I want true’

 

she sits on her ivory throne

chanting spells and hopes and wishes

‘speak me fairer, dear ghost;

ghost of the lie I want true’

 

she sits on her golden throne

calling slaves of four and the blind one

‘touch me richer, dear ghost;

ghost of the lie I want true’

 

she sits, she chants, high on her throne

the world moves on while she sits

‘hope me more love, dear ghost;

because I know my voice rings hollow.’

 

she sits, she chants, high on her throne

the dead know nothing anymore

‘and yet I chant more, dear ghost;

the ghost of the lie I want true’

 

the ghost of this chant that rings false

Leave a Reply

