Review: Cell

Cell
Cell by Stephen King
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In the wake of watching shows such as The Walking Dead, Z Nation and The Last Ship, this novel makes you recognise Stephen King as the original master of the Zombie Apocalypse story. Only he goes ahead and makes the origin of the apocalypse something that we have all come to be so dreadfully dependent on that if The Pulse went out right now, pretty much no one would escape turning into a phone-crazy.

In the midst of it all, a tale of strong bonds of friendship formed in the chaos of simply trying to survive from one day to the next, highlight the humanity that we all hope would keep mankind alive. Of course, there are a few way-outers – Ricardi and Ray – because ‘this is no way to live’.

And idiots like Gunnah and his little buddy who go out of their way to perpetrate horrid crimes just because their egos have been bruised. There will be bullies under all circumstances.

Two things occurred to me as I read this deeply entertaining but thought provoking fictional story.

1. How would I really act in the middle of a crisis like that? Would I find my basic principles of humanity easy to shirk if it was choice between abandoning them and surviving, or would I hold on to them and try to survive with them intact?

2. How long would I fight to keep going, for myself, for my friends, for my family? Would I be among the first to lie down and die because ‘this is no way to love’? Or would I keep going until there was no more life to live?

I love books that throw me into existential mulling. We all need books like these.

So what have you read recently that has ‘given you a seat and asked you to think about your future’?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

