Update July 29.09.2016 – Lupus Diaries (#OptionIndia)

The first time the option of seeking treatment in India was mentioned to me, I dismissed it as a far impossibility. But then my family (my family is my mom and two people not even related to me by blood. Or marriage.) received the scare of their lives when doctors started talking ‘cardiac event’ and ‘prognosis’ and ‘ recovery time’ and ‘potential risks’. I had checked out of the room by then.

I was barely present when visas and yellow fever cards were being sought. I vaguely remember being assessed by the doctor to determine whether or not I could get the Jab or not. I was active on social media though. This is my safe space. I look for material, craft info, share it, sit back, read up on people’s timelines, laugh at the ridiculousness of the worlds thoughts and emotions shared online while we still wait for a machine that can stream shared consciousness. I’ve always been on social media. Even when I’m strapped to a hospital bed. It’s an amazing and a sad sight to see.

This time, I’m a little less scared, and a little more in tune with the journey. I am not sure what will happen. My family is at the point of selling what’s sellable. I feel a little guilty for putting my mother in this position again. The online fundraiser is still on, although Mchanga did switcheroo the url without informing users. Here’s the link. You can still donate via Mpesa Paybill 891300 Account JMARURU. This weekend my family will hold an ittybitty fundraiser at home. I hope it helps because this time round I hope to get through whatever treatment option my doctor recommends for a longer lasting remission.

Speaking of treatment, this week, I’ll finally complete 9 weeks of chemo. I’m also on standard Lupus medication and migraine medication, which I must say has been working really well, reduced pain levels and all. I can’t imagine going back to pain, fever and disruption. That thought scares me.

Fortunately, I don’t have to think about it just yet.  Of course, I’m hoping the online fundraiser will keep growing. In the last few weeks I have seen so much kindness. For example, Peter Elungat donated his beautiful painting titled The Untold Story to my fundraiser. It is a 120×90 Oil on Canvas.

The Untold Story ( 120×90 -Oil on Canvas)

Shortly after, Ndeithi Kariuki donated his painting, Jazz 3 to my fundraiser. It is 50×30 – Acrylic on Canvas.

Jazz 3

Jazz 3 (50×30- Acrylic on Canvas)

 

For purchase and/or information about the paintings, please contact Elizabeth Maruru on 0722580936.

Little Note: 10% of sale of both paintings, and any funds left over after my medical care, will be donated to Lupus Awareness under the She Blossoms Lupus Trust.

Leave a Reply

