Familiar New Delhi – #Lupus Diaries 

My mum and I love adventures. To be more precise, mum loves adventures. I inevitable get dragged along. Coming to New Delhi for the second time was probably a lot more stressful for me than it was the first time. The first time, I was too sick to care and worry about stuff. I got so intensely sick on the flight I thought I was going to die mid air. When we arrived I was rushed straight to the emergency room for rehydration and pain management.

This time, I was acutely conscious through check in, boarding and on-flight. I had time to worry and freak out about stuff. But once I put into work the relaxation techniques I’ve been learning, I settled enough to enjoy some of the flight.

Arriving here though things went just a little awry. Because of the usual financial constraints we wanted to find cheaper accommodation. Our patient advocate was hesitant but he took us to a cheaper guesthouse. The problem is that cheaper accommodations outside of the usual ones vetted by the hospital can be a little, okay, a lot iffy. The patient advocate left us there but said he was on call in case there was a problem.

I was too tired to care, but mum did her usual inspection once we were alone. I guess she didn’t want to scare me because all she said when she got into bed was that we probably would have to change hostels. I just slept on.

When I woke up, mum was sitting in a chair at the corner of the room. I barely mumbled good morning and stumbled into the bathroom.  Which is when reality kinda kicked in. The bathroom wasn’t clean and smelt like old fish. And with that my germ phobia totally woke up.

I went back into the room and told mum about the fish smell. She showed me the dirty floor and the dust on the window sill. And then she said she was pretty sure the bedsheets had been used and not changed. I freaked out. Mum called the patient advocate who said that he could try and find another cheaper but clean guesthouse, unless of course we wanted to go back to the hostel we had stayed at before. 

Let’s just say, getting back to Bajaj Homestay, to familiar faces, and clean bedsheets, that was so good!

Once I settled down, mum giggled: “Well, that adventure is over.” To which I proceeded to lecture mum on how dangerous her little adventures are to a person living with Lupus. I didn’t tell her how much her little adventures taught me about things and life in general. 

Ask me about the transgender babe named Preeti who knocked on our door looking for Kuria, the Kenyan man who was apparently in our room before and may have run away before paying her. Tomorrow.

P.S. I have two pieces of good news.

1. Thanks to you, the She Blossoms Lupus Trust has been nominated for the #OLXSoMa2016 under the Best Use of Social Media – Social Responsibility Category. You can vote for us at soma.or.ke/vot or send 23D to 21195

2. Lupus Awareness has its own cycling team for the Tour de Machakos on October 23-27 2016! Look out for Velo Nitrous who are currently in intense training. Isn’t that amazing?!

Leave a Reply

