I’m Accepting Gifts! Done with #LupusChemo – The Lupus Life

Yes, I’m done with a six month journey with #LupusChemo.

I still don’t know what this means. My immediate future holds a lot of medical review in the form of lab tests and examinations, which means I’m heading back to India.

The last time I did my blood tests here in Nairobi, only a month ago, most of my levels showed reason for hope. There has been some concern with my erythro-sedimentation rates and some protein in my urine which could be as a result of the chemo or not. The doctor’s recommendations are to not panic at this moment.

I’m looking at my future with hope, whatever it does bring to me.

I went back to work in December. I did make a promise that I was going to go back to working as a literacy advocate. I got to work on a campaign to raise funds for a Library under the Start a Library program.

cover

As of January 2017, I am working on the Storymoja Festival team as the Communications Liaison. I am very excited about being part of the team growing the program for the 2017 Storymoja Festival which will be on 27th September to 1st October. The theme for this year is ‘Black Peace’, which I see having so many possibilities.

fb-cover-design-template-06

I’m also so happy to be part of the She Blossoms Lupus Awareness programs. We inducted the 2017 Volunteers which involved several rounds of training, which was both enjoyable and exhausting for me. I’m happy with the new team!

Our first event of the year; She Blossoms for Lupus, will be this weekend, on March 5th 2017 at Shalom House Gardens. It is a Concert of Hope, curated by Lahani’s Kibali Muriithi. Performing at the event will be Jemedari, Ach13ng, Serro, Ayrosh and Kibali. I hope to see you there!

march-5-facebook-cover

Leave a Reply

